2020 ADIPEC Awards recognise excellence across oil and gas industry

adipec award 2020Shell, Schlumberger and Petroleum Development of Oman each received two Abu Dhabi International Exhibition and Conference Awards today

Hosted by the Abu Dhabi National Oil Company (ADNOC) and expanded from six to 10 categories, the coveted ADIPEC Awards celebrate best-in-class industry practice, innovation and excellence. New for 2020 are awards recognising the Oil and Gas Start-up Company of the Year; Operational Excellence Company of the Year; Solutions to Climate Change Company of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Technical Excellence to the Oil and Gas Industry.

Shell received the Breakthrough Research of the Year award, for the best new technological development in upstream, midstream or downstream sectors and the Operational Excellence Company of the Year award, for excellence in operating standards, process optimisation and operational resilience.

The Lifetime Achievement Award for Outstanding Technical Excellence to the Oil and Gas Industry, for contributions of outstanding technical significance to the oil and gas industry, over the course of a career, was presented to Dr. Oliver C. Mullins, a Schlumberger fellow and member of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering. Schlumberger, in partnership with ADNOC, also received the Digital Transformation Project of the Year award, for the most value enhancing implementation of digitalisation across the oil and gas value chain.

Petroleum Development of Oman’s two awards recognised it as the Oil and Gas Inclusion and Diversity Company of the Year, for effective contributions in promoting and embedding inclusion and diversity in an organisation’s business strategy and the Social Contribution and Local Content Project of the Year for its work enabling the betterment of the wider community and environment.

Other award winners were:

Young Technical Professional of the Year: Mustafa AlKhowaildi, Saudi Aramco.

Breakthrough Technological Project of the Year: PTTEP, Kongsberg Ferrotech & AI and Robotics Ventures. 

Solutions to Climate Change Company of the Year: Neutral Fuels.

Oil and Gas Start-up Company of the Year: Xsens AS.

Fatema Al Nuaimi, CEO, ADNOC LNG and the ADIPEC Awards Chairperson, said, “The ADIPEC Awards celebrate excellence and innovation in the oil and gas industry, and recognise the leading companies, individuals, initiatives, projects and technologies that have had a transformational impact on an international scale.

“By recognising the innovators, game changers and future focused projects, that are driving change across the oil and gas value chain, the ADIPEC Awards contribute to shaping the future of energy and provide insights into the business solutions and innovative technologies that will enable the industry to be resilient and thrive in the changing energy landscape.

“Despite the unprecedented challenges of the last year, this year’s awards demonstrate oil and gas companies continue to produce outstanding examples of collaboration, agility, innovation and operational excellence,” Al Nuaimi added.

The ADIPEC Awards received hundreds of submissions from 35 countries across six continents, emphasising their international standing. Nominations undergo a detailed evaluation process which includes shortlisting by 46 technical and 20 selection committee members and a final adjudication by an international jury panel of eight leading energy authorities:

-       H.E. Suhail Mohamed AI Mazrouei, Minister of Energy and Infrastructure, UAE.

-       H.E. Tarek EI Molla, Minister of Petroleum and Mineral Resources, Arab Republic of Egypt.

-       Dr. Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency.

-       Vicki Hollub, President & CEO, Occidental.

-       Lorenzo Simonelli, Chairman, President & CEO, Baker Hughes.

-       Takayuki Ueda, President & CEO, INPEX Corporation.

-       Dr Pratima Rangarajan, CEO, OGCI Climate Investments.

-       Jason Bordoff, Professor of Professional Practice and International Public Affairs, Founding Director, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University.

This year’s awards’ sponsors were: Mitsui & Co. - Breakthrough Technological Project of the Year; bp - Solutions to Climate Change Company of the Year; ExxonMobil -Young Technical Professional of the Year; Total - Oil and Gas Inclusion and Diversity Company of the Year; Samsung Engineering - Operational Excellence Company of the Year; National Oilwell Varco - Digital Transformation Project of the Year; PTTEP - Breakthrough Research of the Year; ARDECO -  Oil and Gas Start-Up Company of the Year; Schlumberger - Social Contribution and Local Content Project of the Year and INPEX/JODCO - Lifetime Achievement Award.

The ADIPEC Virtual Awards form part of the ADIPEC 2020 Virtual Strategic and Technical Conference, also hosted by ADNOC. The event, which runs until Thursday, November 12, features more than 135 live and on-demand sessions, with over 700 speakers, delivering 100 hours of industry focused content. Delegates can access the latest industry knowledge, technical expertise, applications, solutions, and services, on any device that has an internet connection, anywhere in the world and, with on-demand access, at any time. 

Alongside the strategic and technical conference sessions, ADIPEC 2020’s virtual exhibition is hosting more than 100 exhibiting companies from across the global oil and gas industry. 

Alain Charles Publishing, University House, 11-13 Lower Grosvenor Place, London, SW1W 0EX, UK
T: +44 20 7834 7676, F: +44 20 7973 0076, W: www.alaincharles.com

twn Are you sure that you want to switch to desktop version?